Wicked Awesome Workout Wednesday

Barbie Weights FTW!

Yeah, the title is long.  However, “wicked” loses something when “awesome” does not immediately follow it, as we all well know.  Anyway, one thing you should know about me is that I love to exercise.  There are times when I fall off the exercise wagon (I’m only human, after all), but I do try to get right back on.  One of my major vices is workout DVDs….I adore them. My husband does not.  Also, I belong to an awesome, family-oriented gym that is about ten minutes from my house.  Childcare is included in the monthly cost, and you can leave your children in their very nice play area for up to two hours, AND even come back for another two hours, as long as at least two hours have passed since the kiddos were in the play area.  Not that I leave my kids in there for four hours a day…what do you think of me??  Some days, though, it’s a little tempting.  😉  My kids love it so much at the gym that they BEG me to go.  How awesome is that??

I thought I would let you know what I’m currently up to in the fitness department, and then each subsequent Wednesday, I will highlight a workout that I have enjoyed or found inspiring in some way.  Right now I’m following a twelve week program entitled Turbulence Training for Abs from the prolific workout guru Craig Ballantyne.  (If you click on the first link, it will take you to a sample week from the intermediate part of the workout; the second link takes you to Craig’s blog.)  I’m a big fan of his workouts, not only because he offers a variety of options, but because (depending on the workout in question) the actual time you’re investing is under an hour.  In the specific program I’m following, I do about 20-30 minutes of arms, legs and ab work, mostly on a mat, followed by 16-20 minutes of interval training on a stationary bike.  What’s even better is that it’s only three times a week, so if I have a busy week, I still feel like it’s doable, and I can add in some light cardio work on the other days, as he recommends, if I have time.  There are beginner, intermediate and advanced routines, and you start out with whatever level you are comfortable with, do it for four weeks and then move up to the next level.  I’m currently on week two of the beginner routine.  It’s hard out here for a mother of young children to get fit, but I’m trying, and I think this program is especially tailored to a busy schedule.

FYI: Craig occasionally will have a special sale, and you can get some workouts for only $7!  I’m all over those, being the cheapskate that I am!

I would love to hear about anyone else’s routine!  I love hearing about new fitness workouts.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Wicked Awesome Workout Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

