Luscious Lunes: Eggnog French Toast with Brown Sugar Syrup

I found some bread specifically marked French toast at Safeway yesterday, so I decided to try it out. I was actually looking for Texas toast bread, since that’s what most French toast recipes call for, and the French toast bread was right next to it. I thought to myself, “What you got, French toast bread?!” Well, folks, it rose to the occasion. This French toast was luscious and delicious and all manner of -iscious. The kids loved it and gobbled it up. Can’t imagine why. ahem*SUGAR*ahem!

Eggnog French Toast

1/4 cup flour

1/2 cup

1/2 cup eggnog

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 eggs

2 teaspoons cinnamon

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 tablespoon brown sugar

8 to 10 thick slices bread

Butter flavored Crisco, as needed to grease the pan

Directions:

Measure flour into a large, rectangular container (I used a plastic container). Slowly whisk in the milk and eggnog. Whisk in the salt, eggs, cinnamon, vanilla extract and brown sugar until everything is mixed well.

Heat a frying pan over medium heat and add a dollop of Crisco. Yep, a dollop. That’s the scientific term.

Place bread slices in mixture, making sure they are completely saturated. Cook in frying pan on each side until golden. Add another small dollop of Crisco after taking out slices that are done and before adding more. Serve hot, unless you’re a mom, in which case your kids have all had three pieces before you even sit down to eat.

(Adapted from Fluffy French Toast by Bonnie at allrecipes.com)

Now for my grandmother’s super simple syrup recipe.  Growing up, whenever we would visit my grandma’s farm in Pennsylvania, she would make pancakes.  I always wondered what she put in the pancakes, because they were so delicious.  Finally, when I was in my twenties, I asked her what the recipe was.  Turns out, it was…wait for it…Bisquick.  That’s it.  I don’t know, whenever I make pancakes with Bisquick, they’re good, but my grandma somehow made them taste better.  Later, I asked her about the recipe for the syrup that she gave us with the pancakes.  It was even less complicated than the Bisquick!  That’s my kind of recipe.

Brown Sugar Syrup

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup water

Directions:

Dissolve the brown sugar and the water together in a small saucepan.  Heat at medium-high heat until boiling.  Simmer for five minutes and then serve over pancakes, French toast or whatever floats your boat.  Please remember to put it away before you go to bed. Not that I’ve ever forgotten to do that or anything…

This entry was posted in Luscious Lunes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Luscious Lunes: Eggnog French Toast with Brown Sugar Syrup

  1. Mary McG says:

    I will have to make these this year!

  2. Hush, Charlotte says:

    Oh my! These are being made Christmas morning! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

