Wicked Awesome Media Wednesday #1

So I decided, since this is my blog and all, that I’m going alternate between reviewing some awesome forms of media and then doing Wicked Awesome Workout Wednesday.  One of the reasons I never started a blog like this before is because I couldn’t narrow down my interests enough to focus on just one thing.  However, I’ve decided to embrace my varied interests.  The people must have their Ker in all forms!

So, for the very first Wicked Awesome Media Wednesday, I would like to introduce to you the wicked awesome Hunter Hayes. I believe I first came across him as one of Amazon’s $5 MP3 album deals. I try to expand my music collection by listening to excerpts of new albums every so often.  I do this by either going to Amazon’s monthly MP3 deals as mentioned above, or going to iTunes every few weeks or so and looking at the new releases.  Also, sometimes iTunes will send me an email with what’s new or sales that they’re having, and then I’ll go check it out.  Sometimes I won’t find anything at all, but sometimes I get lucky and find some really cool music from an artist that I’ve never heard of before.

Hunter Hayes was one such find. He only has one album out, but it’s been steadily climbing the charts over the past year, and his single “Wanted” crossed over onto the pop charts after starting out on the country charts (it later went to #1 in country).  He is considered a country artist, but he has some great pop tones and catchy hooks. I think he has tremendous potential to be a crossover artist. Hunter actually sounds a lot like Rascal Flatts lead singer Gary LeVox, so if you are a Rascal Flatts fan, I am positive you will like the album.  In fact, even if you think you don’t like country, I challenge you to listen to the album, and I bet you will find something that you like.   There’s not a single song on the album that I don’t like.  Hunter actually played all of the instruments on the album, as well as co-writing every song and co-producing, which is quite the impressive feat, especially considering that he barely turned 21!

Hunter is a great singer-songwriter, he’s good-looking, and he’s young – so he has a lot of songwriting years ahead of him.  I’m already anxiously awaiting his next album!  I’m embedding his first two singles (“Wanted” and “Storm Warning”) as Youtube videos for your perusing pleasure.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Wicked Awesome Media Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

