Luscious Lunes #2: Garlic Bread Fantastique

Hello readers!  Or reader, whichever the case may be.  Or cat playing around on the keyboard, I welcome you, too.  I am no discriminator of species when it comes to blog traffic.  In fact, interplanetary contact is okay by me as well.  So, E.T., since you figured out the whole “phone home” thing back in the early 80s, I assume you have enough mad skillz to browse the internet and find this blog.  I expect comments, E.T.!  I totally would have helped you get back to your spaceship, and I would NOT have given you up, like Drew Barrymore, so, you know.  I got your back.

I digress.  As usual.  I have an oh-so-yummy recipe for ya’ll this fine lunes, courtesy of an Allrecipes user who goes by the name of JSWHAN.  Since I had some Texas Toast and had already recently made french toast, I thought, “a-HA! Garlic bread is in the house!”  Without further ado, here it is:

Garlic Bread Fantastique (recipe adapted from JSWHAN from Allrecipes.com)

1/2 cup butter, softened
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
1/4 teaspoon sage
3 cloves minced garlic
2 teaspoons dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
8 slices Texas Toast-style bread
shredded cheese, to taste (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to broil.
  2. In a medium bowl combine butter, mayonnaise, sage, garlic, oregano, salt and pepper. Spread mixture evenly on bread and sprinkle with cheese, if desired.
  3. Place bread under broil for 5 minutes, or until lightly toasted.


This was excellent with tomato salad, which is slated for the next Luscious Lunes!  Be sure to head back and check it out next Monday!

This entry was posted in Luscious Lunes, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

