Luscious Lunes #3: Easy Tomato Salad

This lovely lunes I would like to introduce you to a very easy Italian appetizer.  I got this idea from my aunt, who served a similar recipe when I was visiting her a few months ago, although I have tweaked the ingredients a bit.  She used balsamic vinegar, which I have omitted, since my husband is not a fan, and why am I going to buy a huge bottle of it if I’m the only one using it?  Yeah, not happening.

Easy Tomato Salad – inspired by Aunt Anne

14-15 cherry tomatoes, sliced (I actually used a roma-juliet hybrid that I grew myself, but cherry is the closest in size to what I used.)
salt and pepper, to taste
olive oil, to taste
4 string cheese sticks (low-fat mozzarella), sliced into rounds
Handful of fresh basil leaves or basil paste in a tube (I used the latter….Gourmet Gardens Basil, which I LOVE)

Directions:

  1. Arrange tomato slices onto a serving plate.
  2. Sprinkle salt and pepper on them to taste.
  3. Drizzle olive oil over tomatoes, also to taste.  Be careful with that big ol’ bottle, or you’ll have a lot more than you wanted on there!  Not that I know from experience, or anything…
  4. Place string cheese rounds on each tomato slice.
  5. Either tear pieces of basil and place on the cheese or squeeze a little dab of basil paste onto the cheese.

Enjoy your easy masterpiece!  You can always use bigger tomatoes, but I like the cherry ones because they are easy for little fingers to pick up, plus my tomato plant has been a master procreater, and I’ve had to get creative in my uses of its crop.  Woman can only have so much tomato soup, you know what I mean?

This entry was posted in Luscious Lunes, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Luscious Lunes #3: Easy Tomato Salad

  1. Annahannah says:

    I have never done tomatos like this, but it looks good. I can see the kids picking up their individual pieces. Maybe I will even try it!!

  2. Michelle says:

    Yuuuuuuuum! That is all I have to say. I love tomato and basil. Totally trying. Okay, maybe yum wasn’t all I had to say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

