Wicked Awesome Media Wednesday #2: Stephenie Meyer’s The Host

Good morning, dear readers!  I came downstairs this morning, and my husband was watching movie trailers on the iPad, which was kind of a Twilight Zone thing to do, since he is usually militant about not watching trailers before he sees a movie.  Anyway, he started watching the latest trailer for The Host, and, unbeknownst to him, I had just brought down my hardback copy of the same!  I took it as a sign that I simply *must* write about it…which I was planning to do anyway, since it was the reason I had brought the book downstairs and all.  😉

I have a confession to make about Stephenie Meyer.  I think she is a super talented author, but DUDE, what the heck happened to the movies??  I know I risk the wrath of Twihards and Twilight-obsessed mommies everywhere, but I really didn’t care for the movies that much.  And I should say here that I have read all of her books and totally immersed myself in the Twilight world and *loved* it.  Here are my problems with the movies: I didn’t really agree with the casting.  Actually, the only casting I agreed with was Alice, because she embodied the character so well.  The vampires are supposed to be the most beautiful people anyone has ever seen, not pasty-white, depressed, sulking people who look way older than high-schoolers and speak in monotones!  Also, sometimes you can dye someone’s hair a color that is not natural to them and have it work out, but this is not the case with Carlisle…he just looks silly with blonde hair!   Another problem I had was the general hokiness of the movie.  Many parts were just silly and actually laugh-out-loud funny when they were supposed to be serious.  That’s generally something you want to avoid in your movie, methinks.

ANYway…getting back to The Host.  As I said previously, I’m a big fan of Stephenie’s written work.  So I was excited when The Host came out in 2008 (side note: I looked up the date it was published, and I was like, “whaaaaa??”….where did the last four years go?).  Unfortunately, everyone else with access to my public library system was also stoked to read it, and there were a TON of requests for the book, as you might imagine.  So I waited.  And waited.  And waited some more.  Then it finally came into my grubby little hands!  I devoured it.  It is a great story!  If you haven’t read it yet, it’s set in the future when the Earth has been almost completely overtaken by parasitic aliens who use the Earthlings as hosts.  Melanie is a young woman who gets captured and an alien, Wanderer, is put inside her brain.  However, Melanie has a very strong personality, and so she and Wanderer fight for control over her body.  We learn about Melanie’s life through flashbacks and memories.  I highly recommend the book, and if you’re interested, get it now before interest in it goes way up next spring when the movie comes out.

(image belongs to Stephenie Meyer; I do not claim ownership)

I really, really, super-duper hope that the movie doesn’t suck.  Please don’t suck, movie.  Take a look at the newest trailer below and tell me what you think.  Would you be interested in seeing it based on the trailer?

This entry was posted in Books, Wicked Awesome Media Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wicked Awesome Media Wednesday #2: Stephenie Meyer’s The Host

  1. Carolyn says:

    Maybe I should try reading the book again because I really couldn’t get into it last time. In fact, I didn’t even finish reading The Host last time I tried. (gasp!)
    I agree with the lameness of the movies. I have watched all of them and I felt they were slow and too artsy. I got bored! But actually, I really enjoyed the final movie, Breaking Dawn 2. I thought it was the best one by far. Have you seen it yet?

    • That’s it! You’re out of the will! 😉

      I actually have not seen Part 2 yet, and I do want to. I heard from several friends that the ending is quite surprising, and it has piqued my interest. Now…to find someone who also hasn’t seen it, that I’m not married to…(since Hubbin will not stand for it!)

  2. Mary McG says:

    I have not seen any movies beyond the second. Then again I never read the books. This movie does look interesting.

  3. Pingback: A Highly Scientific Analysis of The Host Trailer | Forever Young Adult « The Twilight Fun Blog

Leave a Reply

