Wicked Awesome Media Wednesday #3: Son by Lois Lowry

Hi, all.  Sick Ker here.  Sicker and sicker.  We’ve been fighting croup, nausea, sore throats and coughing for almost two weeks.  I, in particular, have experienced the latter two in worsening stages over the past few days.  I hope to return to the land of the hale and hearty soon.

Despite all this, I do, however, have a great book to share with you.  First, let me explain my reading habits a bit.  I am an avid reader, but I do go through stages.  The iPad and books are at odds.  Sometimes I’ll be very into reading my Google Reader posts and browsing the internet, and sometimes I’ll totally get into reading and devour a few books at a time (whenever I have the time, that is).  I’ve been doing the latter the past week or so, probably because I’ve been forced to lay down a lot more than usual, and it’s something to pass the time, in between referring the fights that occur because “J.J. took Lamby” and other important occurrences.  Therefore, I introduce you to my latest conquest.

Son by Lois Lowry

son_lowry

If any of you have read “The Giver”, you’ll want to read this one.  Now, there are two other books in the series, just FYI, but in my personal opinion, I feel like “Son” was the first book to address in detail what happened after the oh-so-frustratingly abrupt ending to “The Giver.”  If you’ve read the latter, you know what I’m talkin’ ’bout, Willis.  Oh, the Frustration, Dear Lois!  She more than made up for the long wait, though—“Son” kept me hooked from the get-go.  Now, I will say that there were a couple of fantastical elements that just didn’t seem to entirely jive with the rest of the story, but I still was drawn in sufficiently that I think Ms. Lowry pulled it off.  She’s a great writer.  If you have not read “The Giver”, you are really missing out.  It’s aimed at ages ten and up, but it is a thought-provoking novel that has meaning for people of all ages.  It’s honestly in my top two most favorite books, and I have read a LOT-LOT-LOT of books.  What are you waiting for??  Go read it!

thegiver
(Images are from Amazon.com; I do not claim ownership)

This entry was posted in Books, Wicked Awesome Media Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

